Sewer Commission

You are here


The Sewer Commission office is in the DPW Building at 520 Chase Rd - office is open 7am - 3pm. The Commission regularly meets twice a month.  The Commission meetings historically were held the 2nd Tuesday(at the DPW Building) and the last Tuesday(in person at Town Hall) but check each posted agenda to be sure. 

The Commission has been holding their meetings via Zoom.  The links to the Zoom meetings are found with the posted agendas for public participation.  Then the meeting recordings are found on Lunenburg Access channel/YouTube


The Sewer Commission is a five-member elected board. The Sewer Com mission works in concert with the DPW and DPW Director to plan and implement changes, upgrades and maintenance.  Note: the Town's public water supply is administered by the Lunenburg Water District (978-582-4532) and is a separate entity from the Town.  If you need a Betterment Payoff amount or Release of Lien, please contact the Tax Collectors office at or by calling 978-582-4132.

The Charter 

The Sewer Commissioners shall make careful studies of the resources, possibilities, and needs of the Town as they relate to the availability of sanitary sewers and shall make plans for the installation of a system of sanitary sewers and for the maintenance of a sanitary sewer system.  The Sewer Commission shall develop a comprehensive or master plan for a town wide system of sanitary sewers, setting forth, in graphic and textual form, policies to govern the future growth and development of the entire Town.  The Board of Sewer Commissioners shall, in conjunction with other land use bodies, assist in developing a long range strategic plan for guiding town growth and development.  The powers and authority of the Sewer Commission shall include oversight of the Sewer Enterprise Fund, setting rates and charges for the use of the sanitary sewer system, ratification responsibility for the Sewer Business Manager and providing advice to the Board of Selectmen relating to intergovernmental agreements concerning sanitary sewers.  The day-to-day operation, care and maintenance of the sanitary sewers shall be under the supervision of the Town Manager.  The Sewer Commission shall make an annual report to the Town Meeting, including a full accounting of the Sewer Enterprise Fund, information regarding the condition of the Town's sewer system and any plans or proposals for its development and estimates of their cost.


Field Issues
DPW Director

Bill Bernard
978-582-4160 Ext. 0 

Office Issues
​Business Manager
Paula Bertram
978-582-4160 Ext. 8 

The Business office is located at the DPW building at 520 Chase Road. 
However, Sewer invoice payments should be sent to PO Box 135, Lunenburg 01462, or brought to the Collector's Office on the first floor of Town Hall at 17 Main St., Lunenburg.


At the office, we can help you with the following: 

  • Billing issues
  • Sewer connections permits
  • Drain layers licenses
  • Grease trap permit information
  • Irrigation/deduct meter information
  • Tie cards/As-Builts
  • Betterment/Privilege Fee Assessments
  • Connection Inspections
  • Trench and Road opening permits (handled by DPW)- see online permit process 
  • Sewer Extension requests
  • Lawn Watering and Pool Fill One-time adjustments  


The Sewer Commission consists of five members elected for terms of three years each, usually staggered so that the terms of no more than 2 Commissioners expire each year. It is the selfless service of these individuals for which the Commission and the Town are both most grateful. 

Members and Contact Information
John Reynolds
Term to expire 2025 

Michael Nault
​Term to expire 2025 

Dave MacDonald
​Term to expire 2024

Brett Ramsden
Term to expire 2026

1 Vacancy- Failure to Elect