Select Board

You are here

The Select Board is composed of five members who are elected for three-year terms. As the Chief Elected and Executive Officers of the Town, the Select Board members are vested with all the municipal authority not specifically retained by the Town's legislative body, Town Meeting. The Select Board appoints a Town Manager, responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Town, whose powers are specified in the Town's Home Rule Charter. The Select Board issues the warrants for Town Meetings and makes recommendations on the warrant articles; initiates legislative policy by inserting articles in Town Meeting Warrants and then implements the votes subsequently adopted. They are the chief policy-making agency of the Town. The Select Board appoints a Town Accountant, Constables, Town Counsel, the Council on Aging Director, the Zoning Board of Appeals members, the Conservation Commission, the Historical Commission, the Personnel Board, the Registrars of Voters and other election officers, the Council on Aging members, and members of other multiple member bodies, the functions of which do not involve direct operating responsibilities but which are policymaking in nature.  The Board may hold public hearings on important town issues and periodic conferences with agencies under their jurisdiction and with community groups. The Select Board represents the Town in the General Court and in all regional and metropolitan affairs; and enforces Town by-laws and regulations. The Select Board serves as the licensing/permitting board and is responsible for issuing and renewing licenses in more than 20 categories, including common victualler, alcohol, peddler, lodging house, earth removal, auto dealer, inflammables storage, special events and live weekday and Sunday entertainment.Their meetings are broadcast live by Lunenburg Access Television (LATV), local channel 8. 



Heather R. Lemieux, Town Manager 

Julie L. Belliveau, Assistant Town Manager/HR Director

Elaine M. Peterson, Executive Assistant to the Town Manager

Location Details

Select Board meets regularly on Tuesdays @ 7:00 P.M. (except for last Tuesday of the Month) Town Hall, Joseph F. Bilotta Meeting Room, 17 Main Street, 2nd Floor

Office Hours

Until  further notice, Town facilities will be open to the public from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday. Any persons entering a town building will be required to wear a face mask and maintain a social distance of six feet.  Hand sanitizer is placed throughout the building and should be used upon entry. We will continue serving the public by scheduled appointments outside of these hours and during regular office hours. Please call the office at 978-582-4144 to schedule an appointment .

Monday & Wednesday - 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM;  Tuesday & Thursday - 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM; Friday - CLOSED


Documents and Forms: