By-Law Review Committee

You are here

By-Law Review - The Select Board shall at 5 year intervals, in each year ending in 5, or in 0, cause to be prepared by a special committee appointed for that purpose, a proposed revision or recodification of all by-laws of the town which shall be presented to the town meeting for reenactment at the annual town meeting in the year following the year in which the committee is appointed. The by-law review committee shall consist of the town clerk who shall serve by virtue of office, 2 persons appointed by the town moderator and 2 persons appointed by the select board. The committee in its final, or in an interim report, shall include recommendations for such substantive change in town by-laws as it deems necessary or advisable. Then review of town by-laws shall be in conjunction with the town counsel, or by special counsel retained for that purpose. Subsequent to enactment by the town meeting, copies of the revised by-laws shall be forwarded to the attorney general of the commonwealth for approval, and they shall be otherwise published, all as required by General Laws. Copies of the revised by-laws shall be made available for distribution to the public at a charge not to exceed the actual cost, per copy, of reproduction.

By-Law Committee Members:
Steve Archambault, Town Moderator appointee
Deborah Christen, Member at Large
Mary Foyle, Member at Large
Nancy Gray, Town Moderator appointee
Town Clerk Kathryn Herrick