Historical Commission

You are here


The Historical Commission shall act for the preservation, protection and development of the historical or archeological assets of the Town. The commission shall conduct research for places of historic or archeological value, shall seek to coordinate the activities of unofficial bodies organized for similar purposes, and may advertise, prepare, print and distribute materials which it deems necessary for its work. It shall make recommendations to the Select Board that any place be certified as an historical landmark. The commission may hold hearings, may enter into contracts with individuals, organizations, and institutions for services furthering their objectives.

The commission may acquire in the name of the Town by gift, purchase, grant, bequest, devise, lease or otherwise, the fee or lesser interest in real or personal property of significant historical value and may manage the same. The commission shall file an annual report which shall be included in the Annual Town Report.


Composition, Terms of Office:  There shall be a Historical Commission which shall consist of not less than 3 nor more than 7 members, appointed by the Select Board. Alternate members may be appointed. Terms shall be 1, 2, or 3 years and so arranged that the terms of approximately one third of the members shall expire each year.


Member Name and Contact Information
Richard McGrath (Contact person for demolition requests)
Term to expire June 30, 2024 

C. William Lakso, Member
Term to expire June 30, 2024 

Jennifer Sanderson, Member 
Term to expire June 30, 2026 

Kevin Boussom, Member
Term to expire June 30, 2026 

Megan Lordan, Member
Term to expire June 30, 2024 

Vacancy, Member