Board of Selectmen

You are here

The Board of Selectmen is composed of five members who are elected for three-year terms. As the Chief Elected and Executive Officers of the Town, the Selectmen are vested with all the municipal authority not specifically retained by the Town's legislative body, Town Meeting. The Selectmen appoint a Town Manager, responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Town, whose powers are specified in the Towns Home Rule Charter. The Selectmen issue the warrants for Town Meetings and make recommendations on the warrant articles; initiate legislative policy by inserting articles in Town Meeting Warrants and then implement the votes subsequently adopted. They are the chief policy-making agency of the town.  The Selectmen appoint a Town Accountant, Constables, Town Counsel, the Council on Aging Director, the members of the Board of Appeals, the Conservation Commission, the Historical Commission, the Personnel Board, the Registrars of Voters and other election officers, the members of the Council on Aging, and members of other multiple member bodies the functions of which do not involve direct operating responsibilities but which are policymaking in nature.  The Board may hold public hearings on important town issues and periodic conferences with agencies under their jurisdiction and with community groups; represent the Town before the General Court and in all regional and metropolitan affairs; and enforce Town By-Laws and regulations. The Selectmen also serve as the licensing / permitting board and responsible for issuing and renewing licenses in more than 20 categories, including common victualler, food vendor, liquor, lodging house, earth removal, inflammables, special events and entertainment. The Board of Selectmen meets every Tuesday, unless otherwise posted, 7:00 P.M. to conclusion in the Joseph F. Bilotta Meeting Room, 2nd floor, Town Hall. The session is broadcast live by Lunenburg Access Television (LATV), local channel 8. 



Heather R. Lemieux, Town Manager 

Elaine M. Peterson, Executive Assistant to the Town Manager

Location Details

Board meets regularly on Tuesdays @ 7:00 P.M. (except for last Tuesday of the Month) Town Hall, Joseph F. Bilotta Meeting Room, 17 Main Street, 2nd Floor

Office Hours

Monday & Wednesday - 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM;  Tuesday & Thursday - 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM; Friday - CLOSED


Documents and Forms: